Hateflayer {5}{R}{R}

Creature — Elemental

Wither (This deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters.)

{2}{R}, {Q}: Hateflayer deals damage equal to its power to any target. ({Q} is the untap symbol.)

It has no safe side.

5/5

Illustrated by Thomas M. Baxa

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Hateflayer:
  • If the permanent is already untapped, you can’t activate its {Q} ability. That’s because you can’t pay the “Untap this permanent” cost. (2008-08-01)
  • The “summoning sickness” rule applies to {Q}. If a creature with an {Q} ability hasn’t been under your control since your most recent turn began, you can’t activate that ability. Ignore this rule if the creature also has haste. (2008-08-01)
  • When you activate an {Q} ability, you untap the creature with that ability as a cost. The untap can’t be responded to. (The actual ability can be responded to, of course.) (2008-08-01)
  • Wither applies to any damage Hateflayer deals to a creature, which includes both its combat damage and damage from its activated ability. (2008-08-01)