Soul Reap {1}{B}

Sorcery

Destroy target nongreen creature. Its controller loses 3 life if you’ve cast another black spell this turn.

Their thoughtweft carried Darial’s last thoughts back to his doun. They sorely wished it had not.

Illustrated by Izzy

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Soul Reap:
  • A hybrid creature that’s green and another color is *not* a nongreen creature. Since it’s green, it can’t be nongreen! (2008-08-01)
  • Soul Reap doesn’t check whether you’ve cast another black spell until Soul Reap resolves. If you cast Soul Reap, then cast a black instant in response, the creature’s controller will lose the life when Soul Reap resolves. (2008-08-01)
  • Although Soul Reap says it looks for “another black spell,” there’s no requirement that Soul Reap actually be cast (or be black) for this part of its ability to work. For example, if a spell such as Commandeer causes you to gain control of Soul Reap, it’ll still check whether you cast a black spell this turn, even though you didn’t cast Soul Reap itself. (2008-08-01)