Consume Spirit {X}{1}{B}

Sorcery

Spend only black mana on X.

Consume Spirit deals X damage to any target and you gain X life.

Illustrated by Justin Sweet

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Pauper
Vintage
Penny
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Consume Spirit:
  • The amount of life you gain is equal to the number chosen for X, not the amount of damage Consume Spirit deals (in case some of it is prevented). (2009-10-01)
  • If the targeted permanent or player is an illegal target by the time Consume Spirit would resolve, the entire spell doesn’t resolve. You won’t gain any life. (2009-10-01)