Jodah, the Unifier (Dominaria United #302)

Jodah, the Unifier {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard

Legendary creatures you control get +X/+X, where X is the number of legendary creatures you control.

Whenever you cast a legendary spell from your hand, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a legendary nonland card with lesser mana value. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in a random order.


Illustrated by Barbara Rosiak

Notes and Rules Information for Jodah, the Unifier:
  • Both Jodah, the Unifier’s triggered ability and the spell cast with that ability resolve before the spell that caused the ability to trigger, even if the original spell was countered in response. (2022-09-09)
  • You exile the cards face up. All players will be able to see them. (2022-09-09)
  • The legendary nonland card exiled may be cast immediately. If you do not cast it immediately, you don’t get to cast it at a later time. (2022-09-09)
  • The types and mana value of a double-faced card in exile are determined by the characteristics of its front face. The mana value of a split card is the total mana value of both halves of the split card added together. (2022-09-09)
  • If the legendary nonland card exiled this way is a modal double-faced card, and the back face is also a nonland card face, you may cast either face, even if the back face isn’t legendary. (2022-09-09)
  • If you choose not to cast the card, it remains in exile. The rest of the cards will be put on the bottom of your library in a random order. (2022-09-09)
  • If you cast a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the spell. (2022-09-09)
  • If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost. (2022-09-09)
  • The mana value of the spell that caused the ability to trigger is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was. If that spell had an {X} in its cost, include the chosen value for X when determining its mana value. (2022-09-09)
  • If you exile your entire library without exiling a legendary nonland card with lesser mana value, you will randomize the exiled cards and they again become your library, ending the effect. You will not continue to exile and shuffle your library forever. (2022-09-09)