Kiora, the Crashing Wave {2}{G}{U}

Legendary Planeswalker — Kiora

+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage that would be dealt to and dealt by target permanent an opponent controls.

−1: Draw a card. You may play an additional land this turn.

−5: You get an emblem with “At the beginning of your end step, create a 9/9 blue Kraken creature token.”

Loyalty: 2

Illustrated by Tyler Jacobson

Notes and Rules Information for Kiora, the Crashing Wave:
  • Kiora’s first ability can target any permanent an opponent controls, not just one that can deal or be dealt damage. (2014-02-01)
  • Once the first ability resolves, the damage prevention continues to apply even if that permanent changes controllers. (2014-02-01)
  • Kiora’s second ability allows you to play an additional land during your main phase. Doing so follows the normal timing rules for playing lands. In particular, you won’t play a land as that ability resolves. The ability will fully resolve (and you’ll draw a card, perhaps a land you’ll play later) first. (2014-02-01)
  • The effect of the second ability is cumulative with other effects that let you play additional lands, such as the one from Rites of Flourishing. (2014-02-01)
  • If Kiora leaves the battlefield after her second ability is activated but before it resolves, you’ll still be able to play an additional land after the ability resolves. (2014-02-01)