Dark Depths

Legendary Snow Land

Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it.

{3}: Remove an ice counter from Dark Depths.

When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it. If you do, create Marit Lage, a legendary 20/20 black Avatar creature token with flying and indestructible.

Illustrated by Stephan Martiniere

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Banned
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Dark Depths:
  • Dark Depths really is a land with no mana ability. It doesn’t tap for colorless mana. (2018-12-07)
  • The last ability of Dark Depths is a state trigger. It won’t trigger again while the ability is on the stack, but if the ability is countered and Dark Depths is still on the battlefield with no ice counters on it, it will trigger again immediately. (2018-12-07)
  • If Dark Depths leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, you won’t be able to sacrifice it, so you won’t create Marit Lage. (2018-12-07)