Marchesa's Decree {3}{B}

Enchantment

When Marchesa’s Decree enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.

Whenever a creature attacks you or a planeswalker you control, that creature’s controller loses 1 life.

“Those who seize power must have the means to hold it.” —Queen Marchesa

Illustrated by Chris Rallis

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Marchesa's Decree:
  • The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward. (2016-08-23)
  • Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger. (2016-08-23)
  • If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card. (2016-08-23)