Custodi Lich {3}{B}{B}

Creature — Zombie Cleric

When Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.

Whenever you become the monarch, target player sacrifices a creature.

“Keeping order is a task too important to relinquish in death.”
—Abrado, Custodi priest

4/2

Illustrated by Bastien L. Deharme

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Custodi Lich:
  • If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card. (2016-08-23)
  • The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward. (2016-08-23)
  • Being the monarch carries two inherent triggered abilities. “At the beginning of the monarch's end step, that player draws a card” and “Whenever a creature deals combat damage to the monarch, its controller becomes the monarch.” (2016-08-23)
  • Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren't already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won't trigger. (2016-08-23)