Ancient Animus {1}{G}

Instant

Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control if it’s legendary. Then it fights target creature an opponent controls. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Multani’s mind grasped for consciousness as rage itself rebuilt his body.

Illustrated by Titus Lunter

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Ancient Animus:
  • You can’t cast Ancient Animus unless you choose both a creature you control and a creature you don’t control as targets. (2020-11-10)
  • The creature you control doesn’t have to be legendary. It simply won’t receive a +1/+1 counter before it fights if it isn’t legendary. (2020-11-10)
  • If either target is an illegal target as Ancient Animus tries to resolve, neither creature will deal or be dealt damage. (2020-11-10)
  • If the creature you control is an illegal target as Ancient Animus tries to resolve, you won’t put a +1/+1 counter on it. If that creature is a legal target but the creature you don’t control isn’t, you’ll still put the counter on the creature you control if it’s legendary. (2020-11-10)