Stranglehold {3}{R}

Enchantment

Your opponents can’t search libraries.

If an opponent would begin an extra turn, that player skips that turn instead.

The correct answer to a barbarian’s riddle is to choke on your cleverness and die.

Illustrated by John Stanko

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Stranglehold:
  • If your opponent controls a Stranglehold and an effect says “You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library,” you can’t choose to search, so you won’t shuffle. (2011-09-22)
  • If your opponent controls a Stranglehold and an effect says “Search your library . . . Then shuffle your library,” the search effect fails, but you will still have to shuffle. (2011-09-22)
  • Since opponents can’t search libraries, they won’t be able to find any cards in a library. The effect applies to all opponents and all libraries, including your library. If a spell or ability’s effect has other parts that don’t depend on searching for or finding cards, they will still work normally. (2011-09-22)
  • Effects that tell an opponent to reveal cards from a library or look at cards from the top of a library will still work. Only effects that use the word “search” will fail. (2011-09-22)
  • An “extra turn” means a turn created by a spell or ability. It doesn’t refer to a turn taken in a sanctioned tournament after the time limit for the round has expired. (2011-09-22)
  • If an opponent’s extra turn is created while Stranglehold is on the battlefield, but Stranglehold leaves the battlefield before that turn would begin, that opponent takes the extra turn as normal. (2011-09-22)