Reweave {5}{U}

Instant — Arcane

Target permanent’s controller sacrifices it. If the player does, they reveal cards from the top of their library until they reveal a permanent card that shares a card type with the sacrificed permanent, put that card onto the battlefield, then shuffle.

Splice onto Arcane {2}{U}{U} (As you cast an Arcane spell, you may reveal this card from your hand and pay its splice cost. If you do, add this card’s effects to that spell.)

Illustrated by Alex Horley-Orlandelli

Notes and Rules Information for Reweave:
  • When Reweave resolves it uses the type(s) that the permanent had right before it was sacrificed. (2005-04-01)
  • The player reveals cards only if the targeted permanent gets sacrificed. (2005-11-01)
  • With the introduction of the Tribal type it became possible for an instant or sorcery card to share a type with the sacrificed permanent (ie, a Tribal instant card shares a type with a Tribal Enchantment card). Reweave has received errata so that the effect looks for a *permanent* card that shares a type with the sacrificed permanent. A permanent card is a card that could be put onto the battlefield, which is any card that isn’t an instant or sorcery. (2008-04-01)
  • You reveal all cards you intend to splice at the same time. Each individual card can be spliced only once onto any one spell. (2013-06-07)
  • A card with a splice ability can’t be spliced onto itself because the spell is on the stack (and not in your hand) when you reveal the cards you want to splice onto it. (2013-06-07)
  • You choose all targets for the spell after revealing cards you want to splice, including any targets required by the text of any of those cards. You may choose a different target for each instance of the word “target” on the resulting spell. (2013-06-07)
  • If all of the spell’s targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. (2013-06-07)