Magus of the Will {2}{B}

Creature — Human Wizard

{2}{B}, {T}, Exile Magus of the Will: Until end of turn, you may play lands and cast spells from your graveyard. If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead.

“These eyes have shown me the flaws of flesh.”

3/3

Illustrated by Vincent Proce

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Magus of the Will:
  • Cards that would be put into your graveyard are exiled even if you didn’t play them this turn, such as a nontoken creature that would die. (2016-11-08)
  • Creature tokens are put into your graveyard as normal (and cease to exist soon after). Abilities that trigger when a creature dies can trigger on token creatures being put into your graveyard but won’t trigger on nontoken creatures being exiled instead of being put into your graveyard. (2016-11-08)
  • You pay the costs for a card in your graveyard if you cast it. You may pay alternative costs such as emerge rather than the card’s mana cost. (2016-11-08)
  • You may play a land card from your graveyard only if you have an available land play. (2016-11-08)
  • Magus of the Will doesn’t change when you can play the cards in your graveyard. For example, if you have a creature card without flash in your graveyard, you can cast it only during your main phase while the stack is empty. (2016-11-08)
  • If another effect tries to change where a spell is put as it resolves, such as that of a rebound or buyback ability, you may choose whether to exile the card to Magus of the Will’s effect or to apply the other effect. (2016-11-08)