Scytheclaw {5}

Artifact — Equipment

Living weapon (When this Equipment enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 black Germ creature token, then attach this to it.)

Equipped creature gets +1/+1.

Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, that player loses half their life, rounded up.

Equip {3}

Illustrated by James Paick

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Scytheclaw:
  • Scytheclaw’s triggered ability triggers and resolves after combat damage is dealt. For example, if the Germ token deals 1 combat damage to a player with 10 life, combat damage will reduce that player’s life total to 9. Then Scytheclaw’s ability will cause the player to lose 5 life, leaving the player at 4. (2015-11-04)
  • Like other Equipment, each Equipment with living weapon has an equip cost. You can pay this cost to attach an Equipment to another creature you control. Once the Germ token is no longer equipped, it will be put into your graveyard and subsequently cease to exist, unless another effect raises its toughness above 0. (2015-11-04)
  • The Germ token enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature and the Equipment becomes attached to it before state-based actions would cause the token to die. Abilities that trigger as the token enters the battlefield see that a 0/0 creature entered the battlefield. (2020-08-07)
  • If the Germ token is destroyed, the Equipment remains on the battlefield as with any other Equipment. (2020-08-07)
  • If the living weapon trigger causes two Germs to be created (due to an effect such as that of Doubling Season), the Equipment becomes attached to one of them. The other will be put into your graveyard and subsequently cease to exist, unless another effect raises its toughness above 0. (2020-08-07)