Maelstrom Pulse {1}{B}{G}

Sorcery

Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

During the collision of the shards, entire ways of life disappeared without a trace.

Illustrated by Anthony Francisco

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Maelstrom Pulse:
  • If Maelstrom Pulse resolves but the targeted permanent isn’t destroyed (perhaps because it regenerates or has indestructible), all other permanents with the same name as it will still be destroyed (unless they also have indestructible. (2013-07-01)
  • Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. If that permanent is an illegal target as Maelstrom Pulse tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. Nothing will be destroyed. (2009-05-01)
  • The name of a creature token is the same as its creature types unless the token is a copy of another creature or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 Soldier creature token is named “Soldier.” (2009-05-01)
  • A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn’t have the same name as anything else. (2009-05-01)