Martyrdom {1}{W}{W}

Instant

Until end of turn, target creature you control gains “{0}: The next 1 damage that would be dealt to target creature, planeswalker, or player this turn is dealt to this creature instead.” Only you may activate this ability.

“The only true immortality is in dying for a cause.”
—Halvor Arensson, Kjeldoran Priest

Illustrated by Mark Poole

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Brawl
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Pauper
Vintage
Penny
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Martyrdom:
  • If the target stops being a creature, you can’t redirect damage to it until/unless it becomes a creature again. (2004-10-04)
  • If the target creature is not still on the battlefield when the damage is to be redirected, the damage stays where it is. (2004-10-04)
  • Can be used to redirect damage from that creature to itself. This has no particularly useful effect. (2004-10-04)