Sphinx's Herald {U}

Artifact Creature — Vedalken Wizard

{2}{U}, {T}, Sacrifice a white creature, a blue creature, and a black creature: Search your library for a card named Sphinx Sovereign and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

He calls a riddle through the gaps of cloven clouds, hoping for an answer.

1/1

Illustrated by Dan Scott

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Sphinx's Herald:
  • The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager. (2008-10-01)
  • To activate the ability, you must sacrifice three different creatures. You can’t sacrifice just one three-colored creature, for example. (2008-10-01)
  • You may sacrifice multicolored creatures as part of the cost of the search ability. If you sacrifice a multicolored creature this way, specify which part of the cost that creature is satisfying. (2008-10-01)
  • You may sacrifice the Herald itself to help pay for the cost of its ability. (2008-10-01)