Hellish Rebuke {2}{B}

Instant

Until end of turn, permanents your opponents control gain “When this permanent deals damage to the player who cast Hellish Rebuke, sacrifice this permanent. You lose 2 life.”

“Then we burn together!”

Illustrated by Heonhwa Choe

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Hellish Rebuke:
  • When the triggered ability that Hellish Rebuke grants permanents resolves, if that permanent’s controller can’t sacrifice it, they will still lose 2 life. Similarly, if they can’t lose life, they will still sacrifice the permanent. (2021-07-23)
  • If a player casts more than one Hellish Rebuke in a turn, permanents will gain multiple instances of the triggered ability. Each will trigger and resolve separately. For instance, if you cast Hellish Rebuke twice, each permanent which damaged you will cause its controller to lose 4 life. (2021-07-23)
  • If more than one player casts Hellish Rebuke in a turn, some permanents will gain multiple instances of the triggered ability that refer to different players. Each will trigger only for the player who cast the Hellish Rebuke that granted it the ability. (2021-07-23)
  • Copies of Hellish Rebuke that weren’t cast will give opponents permanents the ability, but that ability won’t do anything because no player cast that copy of Hellish Rebuke. (2021-07-23)
  • If a spell or ability causes another player to gain control of Hellish Rebuke while it is on the stack, permanents controlled by the opponents of that player will gain the ability (probably including permanents you control). However, you’re still the player that cast Hellish Rebuke, so the ability will trigger whenever one of those permanents deals damage to you, not the player who controlled Hellish Rebuke as it resolved. (2021-07-23)