Rod of Absorption {2}{U}

Artifact

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery spell, exile it instead of putting it into a graveyard as it resolves.

{X}, {T}, Sacrifice Rod of Absorption: You may cast any number of spells from among cards exiled with Rod of Absorption with total mana value X or less without paying their mana costs.

Illustrated by Svetlin Velinov

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Rod of Absorption:
  • If multiple Rods of Absorption are on the battlefield at the same time, any player casting an instant or sorcery spell will cause all of them to trigger. As the spell resolves, its controller will choose which of the Rods gets to exile it. (2021-07-23)
  • Each Rod of Absorption tracks the cards it has exiled separately. If Rod of Absorption is destroyed and then later brought back to the battlefield, it will not be able to access any of the cards that it had exiled before. (2021-07-23)
  • If a spell is countered or it never resolves, Rod of Absorption will not exile it. (2021-07-23)
  • When Rod of Absorption’s last ability resolves, you cast as many spells with total mana value X or less from among the exiled cards as you would like in any order you choose. Cards not cast this way will remain in exile indefinitely. (2021-07-23)
  • If you cast a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the spell. (2021-07-23)
  • If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost. (2021-07-23)