Phantom Steed {3}{U}

Creature — Horse Illusion

Flash

When Phantom Steed enters the battlefield, exile another target creature you control until Phantom Steed leaves the battlefield.

Whenever Phantom Steed attacks, create a tapped and attacking token that’s a copy of the exiled card, except it’s an Illusion in addition to its other types. Sacrifice that token at end of combat.

4/3

Illustrated by Brian Valeza

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Phantom Steed:
  • Phantom Steed has received a nonfunctional update to its wording. The printed card refers to the “exiled creature.” The corrected text (“exiled card”) is included above. (2021-07-23)
  • If Phantom Steed leaves the battlefield before its ability resolves, the target creature won’t be exiled. (2021-07-23)
  • Auras attached to the exiled creature will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist. When the card returns to the battlefield, it will be a new object with no connection to the card that was exiled. (2021-07-23)
  • If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won’t return to the battlefield. Phantom Steed’s last ability won’t create any tokens. (2021-07-23)
  • Although the token created by the triggered ability is attacking, it was never declared as an attacking creature (for the purposes of abilities that trigger whenever a creature attacks, for example). (2021-07-23)
  • You declare which player or planeswalker the token is attacking as you put it onto the battlefield. It doesn’t have to be the same player or planeswalker Phantom Steed is attacking. (2021-07-23)
  • If the exiled card has {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. (2021-07-23)
  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any “As [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[This creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the copied creature will also work. (2021-07-23)
  • If Phantom Steed somehow exiles a noncreature card, such as an animated land, it will still create a copy of that card when it attacks. It enters the battlefield tapped and will be sacrificed at the end of combat. However, it is not attacking and it is not an Illusion. (2021-07-23)