Torch the Tower (Wilds of Eldraine #378)

Torch the Tower {R}

Instant

Bargain (You may sacrifice an artifact, enchantment, or token as you cast this spell.)

Torch the Tower deals 2 damage to target creature or planeswalker. If this spell was bargained, instead it deals 3 damage to that permanent and you scry 1.

If a permanent dealt damage by Torch the Tower would die this turn, exile it instead.

Illustrated by Uriah Voth

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Brawl
Vintage
Timeless
Commander
Pauper
Oathbreaker
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Torch the Tower:
  • Torch the Tower's last replacement effect will exile the target permanent if it would die this turn for any reason, not just due to lethal damage or having 0 loyalty. (2023-09-01)
  • Bargain means "As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice an artifact, enchantment, or token." (2023-09-01)
  • Bargain represents an optional additional cost. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is "bargained." (2023-09-01)
  • You may sacrifice only one artifact, enchantment, or token to pay a spell's bargain cost. (2023-09-01)
  • If you copy a bargained spell, the copy is also bargained. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that's already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn't bargained, even if the original was. (2023-09-01)
  • Some instant and sorcery spells require additional targets if they're bargained. You ignore those targeting requirements if those spells aren't bargained, and you can't bargain those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can bargain a permanent spell even if you won't be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves. (2023-09-01)