Necrotic Wound {B}

Instant

Undergrowth — Target creature gets -X/-X until end of turn, where X is the number of creature cards in your graveyard. If that creature would die this turn, exile it instead.

The assassins of Ochran distill toxins from the remains of the previous victims.

Watermark: Set Symbol

Illustrated by Randy Vargas

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Necrotic Wound:
  • The value of X is determined only as the undergrowth ability resolves. If the number of creature cards in your graveyard changes later in the turn, the target creature is unaffected. (2018-10-05)
  • Necrotic Wound’s replacement effect will exile the target creature if it would die this turn for any reason, not just immediately after Necrotic Wound resolves. (2018-10-05)
  • If you have no creature cards in your graveyard, the target creature gets -0/-0, and it will still be exiled if it would die this turn. (2018-10-05)
  • Creature cards with other types, such as artifact creature cards, count for undergrowth abilities. (2018-10-05)
  • Because tokens aren’t cards, they never count for undergrowth abilities. (2018-10-05)