Siren's Ruse {1}{U}

Instant

Exile target creature you control, then return that card to the battlefield under its owner’s control. If a Pirate was exiled this way, draw a card.

Deception and misdirection are the heart of the pirate’s arsenal.

Illustrated by Ben Maier

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Siren's Ruse:
  • Once the exiled creature returns, it’s considered a new object with no relation to the object that it was. Auras attached to the exiled creature will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creature will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist. (2017-09-29)
  • The returned creature won’t be the target of any spells or abilities that targeted it before. Any spells that don’t target it, such as Star of Extinction, will still affect it. (2017-09-29)
  • If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won’t return to the battlefield. (2017-09-29)
  • You’ll draw a card if the creature was a Pirate as it was exiled, even if it doesn’t return to the battlefield (most likely because it’s a token) or if it returns to the battlefield but isn’t a Pirate anymore (most likely because it’s copying something else). (2017-09-29)