X {U}{B}

Legendary Creature — Human Spy

As long as X is in X’s owner’s opponent’s hand, X’s owner may cast X and activate X’s abilities. That opponent can’t cast X and plays with his or her hand revealed.

{U}{B}, {T}: Put X into target opponent’s hand.

{3}{U}{B}: You may play a card in the same hand as X without paying its mana cost.

2/2

Watermark: Agents of S.N.E.A.K.

Illustrated by Dmitry Burmak

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for X
  • How exactly does this card work? Want access to your opponent's cards? X gon' give it to ya, but you have to get X into that opponent's hand. You do this using the first activated ability. You activate this ability while X is on the battlefield under your control. Now that X is in their hand, they play with their hand revealed and they're not allowed to cast X or activate any of X's abilities—but you are. You can activate its second ability to play one of the cards in that hand. (2017-12-06)
  • When do I say which card I'm playing? You choose the card as X's last ability resolves. This means your opponent can respond to you activating the ability to get cards out of their hand. But whatever's left when X's ability resolves is fair game. (2017-12-06)
  • When do I play that card? As X's last ability resolves, with one exception: you can't play a land this way unless it's your turn and you haven't yet played a land that turn. But if you're casting a spell, you do it as the ability resolves. This means you can use X's ability to cast their sorceries or creatures during their turn, for example. (2017-12-06)
  • If I use X's ability to cast an instant or sorcery, does that spell go into my graveyard? No. You don't own the cards you play this way. They'll go into your opponent's graveyard. The same is true if a creature card you cast this way later dies. (2017-12-06)
  • Can my opponent discard X while it's in their hand? Yes, if something instructs them to or allows them to. X will go to your graveyard, as you're X's owner. (2017-12-06)
  • In multiplayer games, can I move X from one opponent's hand to another's? Yes, you can. While X is in an opponent's hand, you can activate its middle ability. This is unusual, as normally tap abilities can't be activated from a player's hand. But X's first ability says you can, so you can. (2017-12-06)
  • If The Grand Caluctron in on the battlefield and my X is in my opponent's hand, can I cast cards in their program? No. The Grand Calcutron's ability overrides X in this case. You're limited to the first card in your program. (2017-12-06)
  • If The Grand Calcutron is on the battlefield, can the opponent cast X if it's the first card in their program? No. The opponent can never cast X. In fact, if X is the first card of their program, they can't cast any card in their program, at least until new cards are put ahead of it. Note that you can't cast X either, as it's not the first card in your program. (2017-12-06)