Opal Guardian {W}{W}{W}

Enchantment

When an opponent casts a creature spell, if Opal Guardian is an enchantment, Opal Guardian becomes a 3/4 Gargoyle creature with flying and protection from red.

It was a moment in time, cast in stone—a moment whose time had come again.

Illustrated by Christopher Rush

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Opal Guardian:
  • A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {T} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of their most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature. (2008-08-01)
  • Guardian’s effect doesn’t wear off. (2006-09-25)
  • After the triggered ability resolves, Opal Guardian is no longer an enchantment. (2006-09-25)
  • A face-down creature spell will cause Opal Guardian’s ability to trigger (if it’s an enchantment). (2006-09-25)