Cruel Ultimatum {U}{U}{B}{B}{B}{R}{R}

Sorcery

Target opponent sacrifices a creature, discards three cards, then loses 5 life. You return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, draw three cards, then gain 5 life.

There is always a greater power.

Illustrated by Todd Lockwood

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Cruel Ultimatum
  • Cruel Ultimatum’s only target is an opponent. You don’t choose which creature card in your graveyard you’ll return to your hand until Cruel Ultimatum resolves. (2017-03-14)
  • All of the actions for Cruel Ultimatum are performed sequentially, in the order listed. Earlier actions may affect how you perform later actions. For example, if the opponent sacrifices a creature that he or she controls but you own, it will end up in your graveyard. When Cruel Ultimatum lets you return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, you can choose that one. (2017-03-14)
  • If, as Cruel Ultimatum begins to resolve, your opponent’s life total is 5 or less and you have two or fewer cards in your library, the game will result in a draw. Your opponent’s life total will drop to 0 or less, but Cruel Ultimatum must finish resolving completely before state-based actions are performed. You’ll then be forced to draw three cards and fail to draw one. When state-based actions are finally performed, you and your opponent will both lose the game at the same time, which means the game is a draw. (2017-03-14)