Purgatory {2}{W}{B}

Enchantment

Whenever a nontoken creature is put into your graveyard from the battlefield, exile that card.

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may pay {4} and 2 life. If you do, return a card exiled with Purgatory to the battlefield.

Illustrated by Mike Dringenberg

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Purgatory:
  • If this card changes controllers between putting the upkeep triggered ability on the stack and resolving it, the creature is put onto the battlefield under the control of the player who controlled this card when the ability was put on the stack. (2008-08-01)
  • This has been restored to a triggered ability that triggers when a nontoken creature is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, rather than a replacement effect. The creature does go to the graveyard, and will trigger any other abilities that look for this event. (2008-04-01)
  • If an opponent takes control of this card and pays for the upkeep ability, the creatures will enter the battlefield under their control even if you exiled them. (2004-10-04)
  • If destroyed at the same time some creatures are destroyed, the destroyed creatures are exiled and stay exiled. (2004-10-04)