Urborg

Legendary Land

{T}: Add {B}.

{T}: Target creature loses first strike or swampwalk until end of turn.

“Resignedly beneath the sky/The melancholy waters lie./So blend the turrets and shadows there/That all seem pendulous in air,/While from a proud tower in town/Death looks gigantically down.” —Edgar Allan Poe, “The City in the Sea”

Illustrated by Bryon Wackwitz

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Urborg:
  • You choose whether the targeted creature loses first strike or swampwalk as the ability resolves. If the creature has both abilities, it will lose just one of them. (2009-10-01)
  • Causing a creature to lose swampwalk is useful only during the declare attackers step or earlier. Once the declare blockers step begins, it’s too late to block the creature. (2009-10-01)
  • Urborg’s second ability affects only the first strike ability, not the part of the double strike ability that acts like first strike. (2009-10-01)
  • If a creature loses first strike after first strike combat damage has been assigned, it won’t deal damage during the second combat damage step. (2008-04-01)
  • The ability can be used on a creature without First Strike or Swampwalk but has no effect. (2004-10-04)