Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth

Legendary Land

Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types.

“Yawgmoth’s corpse is a wound in the universe. His foul blood seeps out, infecting the land with his final curse.”
—Lord Windgrace

Illustrated by John Avon

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth
  • Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth isn’t a Swamp while it’s not on the battlefield. (2014-07-18)
  • Urborg’s ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Swamp. Each land thus has the ability “{T}: Add {B} to your mana pool.” Nothing else changes about those lands, including their names, other subtypes, other abilities, and whether they’re legendary or basic. (2014-07-18)
  • If Urborg loses its abilities (for example, if it becomes a creature and then Turn to Frog targets it), all lands on the battlefield, including Urborg, will still be Swamps, but Urborg won’t have the ability “Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types.” Urborg also won’t be able to tap to produce {B}, but other lands (including those that enter the battlefield later in the turn) will. The way continuous effects work, Urborg’s type-changing ability is applied before the effect that removes both the type-changing ability and its own mana ability. (2014-07-18)
  • If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and either Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon are on the battlefield, all nonbasic lands will be Mountains, not Swamps. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth will be a Mountain as well. It will have “{T}: Add {R} to your mana pool” and no other abilities. (2008-04-01)