Leyline of the Void {2}{B}{B}

Enchantment

If Leyline of the Void is in your opening hand, you may begin the game with it on the battlefield.

If a card would be put into an opponent’s graveyard from anywhere, exile it instead.

Illustrated by Rob Alexander

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Leyline of the Void:
  • A player’s “opening hand” is the hand of cards the player has after all players have taken mulligans and “scryed” if applicable. If players have any cards in hand that allow actions to be taken with them from a player’s opening hand, the starting player takes all such actions first in any order, followed by each other player in turn order. Then the first turn begins. (2016-06-08)
  • Leyline of the Void’s second ability prevents cards from ever reaching your opponents’ graveyards. Abilities that would trigger when those cards are put into an opponent’s graveyard (such as Hoarding Dragon’s last ability) won’t trigger. (2010-08-15)
  • Leyline of the Void’s second ability doesn’t affect token permanents that would be put into an opponent’s graveyard from the battlefield. They’ll be put into that graveyard as normal (causing any applicable triggered abilities to trigger), then they’ll cease to exist. (2010-08-15)
  • If your opponent discards a card while you control Leyline of the Void, abilities that function when that card is discarded (such as Liliana’s Caress’s ability, or a madness ability of the discarded card) still work, even though that card never reaches that player’s graveyard. In addition, spells or abilities that check the characteristics of the discarded card (such as Chandra Ablaze’s first ability) can find that card in exile. (2010-08-15)
  • Leyline of the Void affects cards that would be put into opponents’ graveyards from anywhere, not just from the battlefield. (2006-02-01)