Kellan, Daring Traveler // Journey On (The Lost Caverns of Ixalan #231)

Kellan, Daring Traveler {1}{W}

Legendary Creature — Human Faerie Scout

Whenever Kellan, Daring Traveler attacks, reveal the top card of your library. If it’s a creature card with mana value 3 or less, put it into your hand. Otherwise, you may put it into your graveyard.


Journey On {G}

Sorcery — Adventure

Create X Map tokens, where X is one plus the number of opponents who control an artifact. (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)

Illustrated by Marta Nael

Notes and Rules Information for Kellan, Daring Traveler // Journey On:
  • If you don't put the card you reveal due to Kellan's triggered ability into your hand and you choose not to put it into your graveyard, it stays on top of your library. (2023-11-10)
  • Journey On counts the number of opponents who control at least one artifact, not the number of artifacts opponents control. (2023-11-10)
  • An adventurer card is a permanent card in every zone except the stack, as well as while on the stack if not cast as an Adventure. Ignore its alternative characteristics in those cases. For example, while it's in your graveyard, Kellan, Daring Traveler is a white creature card whose mana value is 2. While there, it can't be the target of a spell or ability that targets only instant or sorcery cards. (2023-11-10)
  • When casting a spell as an Adventure, use the alternative characteristics and ignore all of the card's normal characteristics. The spell's color, mana cost, mana value, and so on are determined by only those alternative characteristics. If the spell leaves the stack, it immediately resumes using its normal characteristics. (2023-11-10)
  • If you cast an adventurer card as an Adventure, use only its alternative characteristics to determine whether it's legal to cast that spell. For example, if you control Johann, Apprentice Sorcerer ("Once each turn, you may cast an instant or sorcery spell from the top of your library") and Kellan, Daring Traveler is on top of your library, you can cast Journey On, but not Kellan, Daring Traveler. (2023-11-10)
  • If a spell is cast as an Adventure, its controller exiles it instead of putting it into its owner's graveyard as it resolves. For as long as it remains exiled, that player may cast it as a permanent spell. If an Adventure spell leaves the stack in any way other than resolving (most likely by being countered or by failing to resolve because its targets have all become illegal), that card won't be exiled and the spell's controller won't be able to cast it as a permanent later. (2023-11-10)
  • If an adventurer card ends up in exile for any other reason than by exiling itself while resolving, it won't give you permission to cast it as a permanent spell. (2023-11-10)
  • You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions for the permanent spell you cast from exile. Normally, you'll be able to cast it only during your main phase while the stack is empty. (2023-11-10)
  • If an effect copies an Adventure spell, that copy is exiled as it resolves. It ceases to exist as a state-based action; it's not possible to cast the copy as a permanent. (2023-11-10)
  • Some cards in other sets refer to a card, spell, or permanent that "has an Adventure." This refers to a card, spell, or permanent that has an adventurer card's set of alternative characteristics, even if they're not being used and even if that card was never cast as an Adventure. (2023-11-10)
  • If an effect refers to a card, spell, or permanent that has an Adventure, it won't find an instant or sorcery spell on the stack that's been cast as an Adventure. (2023-11-10)
  • If an object becomes a copy of an object that has an Adventure, the copy also has an Adventure. If it changes zones, it will either cease to exist (if it's a token) or cease to be a copy (if it's a nontoken permanent), and so you won't be able to cast it as an Adventure. (2023-11-10)
  • If an effect instructs you to choose a card name, you may choose the alternative Adventure name. Consider only the alternative characteristics to determine whether that is an appropriate name to choose. (2023-11-10)
  • Casting a card as an Adventure isn't casting it for an alternative cost. Effects that allow you to cast a spell for an alternative cost or without paying its mana cost may allow you to apply those to the Adventure. (2023-11-10)
  • Map tokens are a kind of predefined token. Each one is a colorless artifact with the artifact subtype Map and the ability "{1}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Target creature you control explores. Activate only as a sorcery." (2023-11-10)