Storm Fleet Negotiator (The Lost Caverns of Ixalan Commander #78)

Storm Fleet Negotiator {2}{U}

Creature — Siren Pirate


Parley — Whenever Storm Fleet Negotiator attacks, each player reveals the top card of their library. For each nonland card revealed this way, you create a Map token. Then each player draws a card. (A Map token is an artifact with “{1}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Target creature you control explores. Activate only as a sorcery.”)


Illustrated by Nino Vecia

Notes and Rules Information for Storm Fleet Negotiator:
  • In some unusual cases, noncreature permanents may explore. For example, if the creature card returned by Defossilize is somehow not a creature once it's on the battlefield, it can still explore. You'll take all the same actions, and you may end up putting a +1/+1 counter on the permanent. (Note that some effects target a creature, and those effects would still require a legal target to have it explore.) (2023-11-10)
  • Map tokens are a kind of predefined token. Each one is a colorless artifact with the artifact subtype Map and the ability "{1}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Target creature you control explores. Activate only as a sorcery." (2023-11-10)
  • Except in some very unusual cases, the card each player reveals is the one they'll draw. (2023-11-10)
  • If an ability instructs a creature to explore, its controller reveals the top card of their library. If it's a land card, they'll put it into their hand. Otherwise, they'll put a +1/+1 counter on that creature, then choose to either leave that card on top of their library or put it into their graveyard. (2023-11-10)
  • Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done. Notably, opponents can't try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter. (2023-11-10)
  • If no card is revealed, most likely because that player's library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter. (2023-11-10)
  • If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger "whenever a creature explores" trigger as appropriate. (2023-11-10)
  • Some spells or abilities might cause a creature to explore multiple times in a row. If you reveal a nonland card when a creature explores and leave it on top of your library, then the creature explores again immediately afterwards, you'll reveal the same card again. (2023-11-10)