Searing Blaze {R}{R}

Instant

Searing Blaze deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and 1 damage to target creature that player or that planeswalker’s controller controls.

Landfall — If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, Searing Blaze deals 3 damage to that player or planeswalker and 3 damage to that creature instead.

Illustrated by James Paick

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Searing Blaze:
  • Whether you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn is checked as this spell resolves, not as you cast it. (2010-03-01)
  • Having more than one land enter the battlefield under your control this turn provides no additional benefit. (2010-03-01)
  • The landfall ability checks for an action that has happened in the past. It doesn’t matter if a land that entered the battlefield under your control previously in the turn is still on the battlefield, is still under your control, or is still a land. (2010-03-01)
  • Once the spell resolves, having a land enter the battlefield under your control provides no further benefit. (2010-03-01)
  • The effect of this spell’s landfall ability replaces its normal effect. If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, only the landfall-based effect happens. (2010-03-01)
  • You must choose two targets as you cast Searing Blaze: a player and a creature that player controls. If you can’t (because there are no creatures on the battlefield, perhaps), then you can’t cast the spell. (2010-03-01)
  • If either target is illegal by the time Searing Blaze resolves, it still deals damage to the other target. (2010-03-01)