Hymn of the Wilds

Conspiracy

(Start the game with this conspiracy face up in the command zone.)

The first creature spell you cast each turn costs {1} less to cast.

You can’t cast instant or sorcery spells.

Many attempt to speak with nature. Selvala speaks less, and nature answers more.

Illustrated by Jason Rainville

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Banned
Penny
Vintage
Banned
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Banned
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Hymn of the Wilds:
  • The first ability doesn’t change the mana cost or converted mana cost of any creature spell. It changes only the total cost you actually pay. (2016-08-23)
  • If you have more than one Hymn of the Wilds in the command zone, their abilities will each apply to the first creature spell you cast each turn. For example, if you have two, the first creature spell you cast each turn costs {2} less to cast. Subsequent creature spells won’t get a discount. (2016-08-23)
  • The ability can’t affect the amount of colored mana you pay for a spell. It reduces only the generic component of that mana cost. (2016-08-23)
  • The first creature spell you cast each turn doesn’t necessarily have to be the first spell you cast. For example, you could cast an artifact spell and then cast a creature spell that would get the discount. (2016-08-23)
  • If there are additional costs to cast a spell, or if the cost to cast a spell is increased by an effect, apply those increases before applying cost reductions. (2016-08-23)
  • The cost reduction can apply to an alternative cost, such as a madness cost. (2016-08-23)
  • If the first creature spell you cast in a turn has {X} in its mana cost, you choose the value of X before calculating the spell’s total cost. For example, if the first creature spell you cast in a turn has a mana cost of {X}{G}, you could choose 1 as the value of X and pay {G} to cast the spell. (2016-08-23)
  • Conspiracies are never put into your deck. Instead, you put any number of conspiracies from your card pool into the command zone as the game begins. These conspiracies are face up unless they have hidden agenda, in which case they begin the game face down. (2016-08-23)
  • A conspiracy doesn’t count as a card in your deck for purposes of meeting minimum deck size requirements. (In most drafts, the minimum deck size is 40 cards.) (2016-08-23)
  • You don’t have to play with any conspiracy you draft. However, you have only one opportunity to put conspiracies into the command zone, as the game begins. You can’t put conspiracies into the command zone after this point. (2016-08-23)
  • You can look at any player’s face-up conspiracies at any time. You’ll also know how many face-down conspiracies a player has in the command zone, although you won’t know what they are. (2016-08-23)
  • A conspiracy’s static and triggered abilities function as long as that conspiracy is face-up in the command zone. (2016-08-23)
  • Conspiracies are colorless, have no mana cost, and can’t be cast as spells. (2016-08-23)
  • Conspiracies aren’t legal for any sanctioned Constructed format, but may be included in other Limited formats, such as Cube Draft. (2016-08-23)