Public Execution {5}{B}

Instant

Destroy target creature an opponent controls. Each other creature that player controls gets -2/-0 until end of turn.

Though the executioner did not speak, the villagers got the message.

Illustrated by Anthony Palumbo

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Public Execution:
  • If the target creature regenerates or has indestructible, each other creature controlled by that creature’s controller will still get -2/-0. (2013-07-01)
  • Only creatures controlled by the player when Public Execution resolves will get -2/-0. Creatures that enter the battlefield under that player’s control or that the player gains control of later in the turn are unaffected. (2012-07-01)
  • Public Execution targets only the creature it destroys. If that creature is an illegal target when Public Execution tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. No creature will get -2/-0. (2012-07-01)