Fireball {X}{R}

Sorcery

This spell costs {1} more to cast for each target beyond the first.

Fireball deals X damage divided evenly, rounded down, among any number of targets.

The orchard soon reeked of sulfur, smoke, and scorched bugbear, with just a hint of peach.

Illustrated by Xavier Ribeiro

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Fireball:
  • For example, if X is 5 and you choose three target creatures, Fireball has a total cost of {7}{R} (even though its mana cost is just {5}{R} and its converted mana cost is 6). If those creatures are all still legal targets as Fireball resolves, it deals 1 damage to each of them. (2017-11-17)
  • You may cast Fireball with zero targets, regardless of the value chosen for X. If you do so, it will not be a targeted spell, and no damage will actually be dealt when it resolves. (2017-11-17)
  • Fireball’s damage is divided as Fireball resolves, not as it’s cast, because there are no choices involved. The division involves only targets that are still legal as Fireball resolves. (2017-11-17)
  • You can target more than X creatures. However, if the number of legal targets at the time Fireball resolves is greater than X, none of them will be dealt any damage. (2017-11-17)