Oloro, Ageless Ascetic {3}{W}{U}{B}

Legendary Creature — Giant Soldier

At the beginning of your upkeep, you gain 2 life.

Whenever you gain life, you may pay {1}. If you do, draw a card and each opponent loses 1 life.

At the beginning of your upkeep, if Oloro, Ageless Ascetic is in the command zone, you gain 2 life.

4/5

Illustrated by Eric Deschamps

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Oloro, Ageless Ascetic
  • Oloro, Ageless Ascetic is banned as a commander in Duel Commander format, but it may be part of your deck. (Scryfall note, 2015-01-19)
  • If Oloro is your commander, its last ability will trigger at the beginning of the upkeep step on your first turn. (2013-10-17)
  • Oloro’s second ability triggers just once for each life-gaining event, no matter how much life is gained. (2013-10-17)
  • You decide whether to pay {1} as the second ability resolves. If you do, you’ll draw a card and each opponent will lose 1 life. (2013-10-17)
  • Oloro’s first ability works only if Oloro is on the battlefield. (2013-10-17)
  • In some unusual cases, you can gain life even though your life total actually decreases. For example, if you are being attacked by two 3/3 creatures and you block one with a 2/2 creature with lifelink, your life total will decrease by 1 even though you’ve gained 2 life. Oloro’s second ability would trigger. (2013-10-17)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it causes your team’s life total to increase. (2013-10-17)
  • If two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, Oloro’s ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once. (2013-10-17)