Mindlock Orb {3}{U}

Artifact

Players can’t search libraries.

Rogue mechanists once rummaged through the wastes of the Tidehollow, constructing unauthorized golems to threaten the hegemony of the sphinxes. The orbs put a stop to that.

Illustrated by rk post

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Mindlock Orb:
  • The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager. (2008-10-01)
  • If an effect says “You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library,” you can’t choose to search, so you won’t shuffle. (2008-10-01)
  • If an effect says “Search your library . . . Then shuffle your library,” the search effect fails, but you will have to shuffle. (2008-10-01)
  • Since players can’t search, players won’t be able to find any cards in a library. The effect applies to all players and all libraries. If a spell or ability’s effect has other parts that don’t depend on searching for or finding cards, they will still work normally. (2008-10-01)
  • Effects that tell a player to reveal cards from a library or look at cards from the top of a library will still work. Only effects that use the word “search” will fail. (2008-10-01)