Chalice of the Void {X}{X}

Artifact

Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.

Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.

Watermark: Set Symbol

Illustrated by Mark Zug

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Restrict.
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Chalice of the Void:
  • A mana cost of {X}{X} means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay {6} to cast Chalice of the Void. (2018-03-16)
  • The number of counters on Chalice of the Void matters only at the time the spell is cast. Changing the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void after a spell has been cast won’t change whether the ability counters the spell. (2018-03-16)
  • If there are zero charge counters on Chalice of the Void, it counters each spell with a converted mana cost of 0. This includes face-down creature spells cast with morph’s alternative cost. (2018-03-16)
  • Chalice of the Void has to be on the battlefield at the end of casting a spell for the ability to trigger. If you sacrifice Chalice of the Void as a cost to cast a spell, its ability can’t trigger. However, if it leaves the battlefield once its ability has triggered, that ability will still counter the spell. (2018-03-16)