Zareth San, the Trickster {3}{U}{B}

Legendary Creature — Merfolk Rogue

Flash

{2}{U}{B}, Return an unblocked attacking Rogue you control to its owner’s hand: Put Zareth San, the Trickster from your hand onto the battlefield tapped and attacking.

Whenever Zareth San deals combat damage to a player, you may put target permanent card from that player’s graveyard onto the battlefield under your control.

4/4

Illustrated by Zack Stella

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Zareth San, the Trickster:
  • Before blockers are declared, attacking Rogues are neither blocked nor unblocked, so you can’t pay the cost to activate Zareth San’s second ability. (2020-09-25)
  • To activate Zareth San’s second ability, you reveal it in your hand. It remains revealed until the ability has resolved. (2020-09-25)
  • If Zareth San leaves your hand before its second ability resolves, the ability does nothing as it resolves. Zareth San remains in its new zone and the Rogue you returned remains in its owner’s hand. (2020-09-25)
  • You choose which player or planeswalker Zareth San is attacking. It doesn’t have to be attacking the same player or planeswalker that the returned Rogue was attacking. (2020-09-25)
  • Although Zareth San is attacking, it was never declared as an attacking creature (for purposes of abilities that trigger whenever a creature attacks, for example). (2020-09-25)
  • Zareth San’s second ability can be activated during the declare blockers step, combat damage step, or end of combat step. If you wait until after the declare blockers step, because all combat damage is dealt at once, Zareth San won’t normally deal combat damage. (2020-09-25)
  • If a creature in combat has first strike or double strike, you can activate Zareth San’s second ability during the first-strike combat damage step. Zareth San will deal combat damage during the regular combat damage step in this case, even if it somehow gains first strike. (2020-09-25)
  • In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If you leave the game, any permanents you control from Zareth San’s last ability are exiled. (2020-09-25)