Zara, Renegade Recruiter {3}{U}{R}

Legendary Creature — Human Pirate


Whenever Zara, Renegade Recruiter attacks, look at defending player’s hand. You may put a creature card from it onto the battlefield under your control tapped and attacking that player or a planeswalker they control. Return that creature to its owner’s hand at the beginning of the next end step.


Illustrated by Chris Rallis

Notes and Rules Information for Zara, Renegade Recruiter:
  • If a creature is attacking a planeswalker, that planeswalker’s controller is the defending player. (2020-11-10)
  • Although the creature is attacking, it was never declared as an attacking creature. This means that abilities that trigger whenever a creature attacks won’t trigger when the creature enters the battlefield attacking. (2020-11-10)
  • Any effects that say the creature can’t attack affect only the declaration of attackers. They won’t stop the creature from entering the battlefield attacking. For example, you could put a creature card with defender onto the battlefield tapped and attacking this way. (2020-11-10)
  • The creature is returned to its owner’s hand only if it’s still on the battlefield as the delayed triggered ability resolves. If it’s somewhere else at that time, it stays where it is. (2020-11-10)
  • If you lose the game before the creature put onto the battlefield under your control returns to its owner’s hand, that creature is exiled. If that creature’s owner loses the game while you control the creature, the creature leaves the game with them. (2020-11-10)