Valakut Awakening {2}{R}

Instant

Put any number of cards from your hand on the bottom of your library, then draw that many cards plus one.

“My ancestors reshaped the world to their vision. I have a few ideas of my own.”
—Tars Olan, stoneforge mystic

Valakut Stoneforge

Land

Valakut Stoneforge enters the battlefield tapped.

{T}: Add {R}.

“I can hear the echo of their hammers, long stilled.”
—Tars Olan, stoneforge mystic

Illustrated by Campbell White

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Valakut Awakening // Valakut Stoneforge:
  • You choose how many cards to put on the bottom of your library as Valakut Awakening resolves. (2020-09-25)
  • If you put zero cards on the bottom of your library, you draw one card. (2020-09-25)
  • There is a single triangle icon in the top left corner of the front face. There is a double triangle icon in the top left corner of the back face. (2020-09-25)
  • To determine whether it is legal to play a modal double-faced card, consider only the characteristics of the face you’re playing and ignore the other face’s characteristics. (2020-09-25)
  • If an effect allows you to play a specific modal double-faced card, you may cast it as a spell or play it as a land, as determined by which face you choose to play. If an effect allows you to cast (rather than “play”) a specific modal double-faced card, you can’t play it as a land. (2020-09-25)
  • If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of cards, you may play or cast a modal double-faced card with any face that fits the criteria of that effect. (2020-09-25)
  • The converted mana cost of a modal double-faced card is based on the characteristics of the face that’s being considered. On the stack and battlefield, consider whichever face is up. In all other zones, consider only the front face. This is different than how the converted mana cost of a transforming double-faced card is determined. (2020-09-25)
  • A modal double-faced card can’t be transformed or be put onto the battlefield transformed. Ignore any instruction to transform a modal double-faced card or to put one onto the battlefield transformed. (2020-09-25)
  • If an effect puts a double-faced card onto the battlefield, it enters with its front face up. If that front face can’t be put onto the battlefield, it doesn’t enter the battlefield. (2020-09-25)
  • If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the name of either face may be chosen. If that effect or a linked ability refers to a spell with the chosen name being cast and/or a land with the chosen name being played, it considers only the chosen name, not the other face’s name. (2020-09-25)
  • In the Commander variant, a double-faced card’s color identity is determined by the mana costs and mana symbols in the rules text of both faces combined. If either face has a color indicator or basic land type, those are also considered. (2020-09-25)