Platinum Emperion {8}

Artifact Creature — Golem

Your life total can’t change. (You can’t gain or lose life. You can’t pay any amount of life except 0.)

8/8

Illustrated by Igor Kieryluk

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Platinum Emperion:
  • Platinum Emperion’s ability doesn’t prevent damage. Rather, it changes the results of that damage. For example, if a creature with lifelink deals damage to you, you won’t lose any life, but its controller will still gain that much life. Similarly, if a creature you control with lifelink deals damage to another player, that player will lose life but you won’t gain any life. (2018-12-07)
  • Abilities that trigger whenever damage is dealt to you will still trigger because that damage is still dealt, even though your life total doesn’t change as a result. (2018-12-07)
  • Spells and abilities that would normally cause you to gain or lose life still resolve, but the life-gain or life-loss part simply has no effect. (2018-12-07)
  • You can’t pay a cost that includes the payment of any amount of life other than 0 life. However, you can choose to be dealt damage, even though that damage won’t result in your life total changing. (2018-12-07)
  • If a cost would include causing you to gain life (like the alternative cost of an opponent’s Invigorate does), that cost can’t be paid. (2018-12-07)
  • Effects that would replace having you gain life with some other event won’t be able to be applied because it’s impossible for you to gain life. (2018-12-07)
  • Effects that replace an event with having you gain life (like Words of Worship’s effect does) or having you lose life will end up replacing the event with nothing. (2018-12-07)
  • If an effect says to set your life total to a certain number, that part of the effect won’t do anything. (2018-12-07)
  • If an effect would cause you to exchange life totals with another player, the exchange won’t happen. Neither player’s life total changes. (2018-12-07)
  • In a Commander game, the damage dealt to you by commanders will still be counted, even if that damage doesn’t cause you to lose life. (2018-12-07)