Moonhold {2}{R/W}

Instant

Target player can’t play lands this turn if {R} was spent to cast this spell and can’t cast creature spells this turn if {W} was spent to cast this spell. (Do both if {R}{W} was spent.)

Illustrated by Mike Dringenberg

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Moonhold:
  • The spell cares about what mana was spent to pay its total cost, not just what mana was spent to pay the hybrid part of its cost. (2008-08-01)
  • The spell checks on resolution to see if any mana of the stated colors was spent to pay its cost. If so, it doesn’t matter how much mana of that color was spent. (2008-08-01)
  • If the spell is copied, the copy will never have had mana of the stated color paid for it, no matter what colors were spent on the original spell. (2008-08-01)
  • When you cast the spell, you choose its targets before you pay for it. (2008-08-01)
  • Moonhold is not a counterspell. It will have no effect on creature spells the targeted player cast before Moonhold resolved. (2008-08-01)
  • Moonhold doesn’t stop effects that “put a card onto the battlefield.” (2008-08-01)