Draconic Roar {1}{R}


As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may reveal a Dragon card from your hand.

Draconic Roar deals 3 damage to target creature. If you revealed a Dragon card or controlled a Dragon as you cast this spell, Draconic Roar deals 3 damage to that creature’s controller.

Watermark: Atarka

Illustrated by Kev Walker

Notes and Rules Information for Draconic Roar:
  • Draconic Roar targets only the creature, not its controller. If that creature becomes an illegal target before Draconic Roar resolves, the spell doesn’t resolve and none of its effects will occur. No damage is dealt. (2015-02-25)
  • If one of these spells is copied, the controller of the copy will get the “Dragon bonus” only if a Dragon card was revealed as an additional cost. The copy wasn’t cast, so whether you controlled a Dragon won’t matter. (2015-02-25)
  • You can’t reveal more than one Dragon card to multiply the bonus. There is also no additional benefit for both revealing a Dragon card as an additional cost and controlling a Dragon as you cast the spell. (2015-02-25)
  • If you don’t reveal a Dragon card from your hand, you must control a Dragon as you are finished casting the spell to get the bonus. For example, if you lose control of your only Dragon while casting the spell (because, for example, you sacrificed it to activate a mana ability), you won’t get the bonus. (2015-02-25)