Vance's Blasting Cannons {3}{R}

Legendary Enchantment

At the beginning of your upkeep, exile the top card of your library. If it’s a nonland card, you may cast that card this turn.

Whenever you cast your third spell in a turn, you may transform Vance’s Blasting Cannons.

With a broadside assault, Captain Vance carved the cliffs to form her new home.

Spitfire Bastion

Legendary Land

(Transforms from Vance’s Blasting Cannons.)

{T}: Add {R}.

{2}{R}, {T}: Spitfire Bastion deals 3 damage to any target.

Now instead of a ship, Ripley Vance commands a fortress.

Illustrated by Jonas De Ro

Notes and Rules Information for Vance's Blasting Cannons // Spitfire Bastion:
  • The card exiled by the first ability of Vance’s Blasting Cannons is exiled face up. (2017-09-29)
  • Casting the exiled card follows the normal rules for casting that card. You must pay its costs, and you must follow all applicable timing rules. For example, if you exile a creature card this way, you must wait until your main phase to cast it. (2017-09-29)
  • If you don’t cast the exiled card, it remains in exile. (2017-09-29)
  • The second ability of Vance’s Blasting Cannons resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. The ability will resolve even if that spell is countered. (2017-09-29)
  • The second ability of Vance’s Blasting Cannons counts all the spells you’ve cast, including Vance’s Blasting Cannons itself if you cast it this turn. The ability won’t trigger unless Vance’s Blasting Cannons is on the battlefield as you cast your third spell of the turn. (2017-09-29)
  • For more information on double-faced cards, see the Ixalan mechanics article (…). (2018-01-19)