Gideon's Company {3}{W}

Creature — Human Soldier

Whenever you gain life, put two +1/+1 counters on Gideon’s Company.

{3}{W}: Put a loyalty counter on target Gideon planeswalker.

“For the Legion! For Ravnica!”


Illustrated by Milivoj Ćeran

Notes and Rules Information for Gideon's Company:
  • The ability of Gideon’s Company triggers just once for each life-gaining event, whether it’s 1 life from Ajani’s Welcome or 2 life from Battlefield Promotion. (2019-05-03)
  • If Gideon’s Company is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you gain life, it won’t receive counters from its ability in time to save it. (2019-05-03)
  • Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, Gideon’s Company’s ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once. (2019-05-03)
  • If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability of Gideon’s Company triggers only once. (2019-05-03)
  • Putting a loyalty counter on a Gideon planeswalker doesn’t cause any of its activated abilities to become activated. (2019-05-03)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase. (2019-05-03)