Gideon, the Oathsworn {4}{W}{W}

Legendary Planeswalker — Gideon

Whenever you attack with two or more non-Gideon creatures, put a +1/+1 counter on each of those creatures.

+2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that’s still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn. (He can’t attack if he was cast this turn.)

−9: Exile Gideon, the Oathsworn and each creature your opponents control.

Loyalty: 4

Illustrated by Kieran Yanner

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Gideon, the Oathsworn:
  • A non-Gideon creature is a creature that isn’t also a Gideon planeswalker. For example, Gideon’s Company is a non-Gideon creature. (2019-05-03)
  • Any attacking Gideon creatures won’t get a +1/+1 counter, but as long as two or more attacking creatures aren’t Gideons, those attacking creatures each get a +1/+1 counter. (2019-05-03)
  • Gideon’s first loyalty ability doesn’t count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. (2019-05-03)
  • If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can’t attack with him or use any of his {T} abilities (if he gains any). (2019-05-03)
  • Gideon’s first loyalty ability causes him to become a creature with the creature type Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Soldier is just a creature type (not a planeswalker type). (2019-05-03)
  • If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he’s also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard. (2019-05-03)
  • If Gideon has 9 loyalty as you activate his last ability, he’ll be put into your graveyard and won’t be exiled. (2019-05-03)