Over My Dead Bodies {4}{B}{B}

Enchantment

Creature cards in graveyards can attack and block as though they were on the battlefield, can block or be blocked only by creature cards in graveyards, are Zombies in addition to their other types, and have undeathtouch. (If they would deal damage to a creature card, exile that creature card instead.)

Creature cards in your graveyard have haste.

Watermark: League of Dastardly Doom

Illustrated by Even Amundsen

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Over My Dead Bodies
  • What's going on with this card? So, so much. Here's a way to think about it. During combat, creature cards in graveyards can attack and block just as if they were on the battlefield. Attacking creature cards in the graveyard can be blocked only by creature cards in the defending player's graveyard. Remember shadow? Raging River? It's sort of like that. (2017-12-06)
  • What's undeathtouch? It's deathtouch for dead things. If creature cards in graveyards deal damage to one another, they're exiled. (2017-12-06)
  • Can creature cards in graveyards attack planeswalkers? Yes. They can attack anything a normal creature on the battlefield can attack. (2017-12-06)
  • Do other combat abilities work on graveyard creatures? Sure. A graveyard-bound attacking creature card with flying can be blocked only by creature cards in graveyards with flying or reach. Flying graves. Totally a thing. (2017-12-06)
  • Will global effects affect the graveyard creatures? Here's where silver-bordered rules get fun. Over My Dead Bodies allows you to attack or block with creature cards in your graveyard. If you do, for the duration of combat, the attacking and blocking creature cards are treated as if they are creature cards on the battlefield which means they can be affected by spells or abilities that would affect creatures on the battlefield. That means, for example, if you have a Lord of Accursed on the battlefield ("Other Zombies you control get +1/+1"), all your attacking and blocking graveyard creatures (which Over My Dead Bodies makes into Zombies) would get +1/+1 while in combat. (2017-12-06)
  • So I can cast Giant Growth targeting an attacking graveyard creature? Yes, you may target an attacking or blocking graveyard creature just as you could target a normal creature. (2017-12-06)
  • So I can cast Murder targeting my opponent's blocking graveyard creature? Sure. If a graveyard creature is destroyed, it's removed from combat. It would go to the graveyard, but it's already in the graveyard. But you removed it from combat! (2017-12-06)
  • Can I target a graveyard creature that isn't attacking or blocking? Not with anything that targets a creature on the battlefield. Remember you treat them as on the battlefield only while they're attacking or blocking. (2017-12-06)
  • Do the graveyard creatures cause attacking or blocking triggered abilities to trigger? Yes. Remember that they're treated as permanents on the battlefield while in combat, so a graveyard creature attacking will cause anything that triggers when a creature attacks (including its own abilities) to trigger. (2017-12-06)
  • What about abilities that trigger when a creature enters or leaves the battlefield? Will graveyard creatures cause those to trigger? No. They're not actually on the battlefield, so they're not entering it or leaving it. They're just sort of treated that way for combat purposes. (2017-12-06)
  • What happens if Over My Dead Bodies gets destroyed mid-combat? The graveyard creatures go back to being just dead. They're removed from combat. (2017-12-06)