Very Cryptic Command {1}{U}{U}{U}

Instant

Choose two—

• Counter target black-bordered spell.

• Return target creature to its owner’s hand.

• Untap each permanent you control with a watermark.

• Roll two six-sided dice. Target player puts the top X cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard, where X is the total of those results.

Illustrated by Zoltan Boros

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Very Cryptic Command
  • For the first mode, can I really put a card owned by my opponent into my hand? Sure, why not? Make sure the card's owner gets it back after the game. (2017-12-06)
  • For the first mode, if I choose a permanent I control but an opponent owns as the target, does it really get put into my hand? Sure, why not? Make sure the card's owner gets it back after the game. (2017-12-06)
  • For the second mode, how do I treat hyphenated words? Hyphenated words count as one word. (2017-12-06)
  • For the fourth mode, what does it mean to "turn over" a nontoken creature? Physically turn the card (or cards, if the creature has more than one) over. If the result is a face-down card, it's a colorless 2/2 creature, the same as one would get from using the morph ability. Turning a face-down card over results in it being turned face up. Any abilities that trigger when it's turned face up will work. Turning a double-faced card over is the same as transforming it. Any abilities that trigger when you transform it will work. Turning a combined host/augment creature over will result in a big colorless 2/2 creature represented by two cards. Turning a melded creature over will result in the two cards breaking apart and forming two separate creatures, but they'll probably just get right back together even though she's too good for him. Man, we've made some weird stuff over the years. Oh, I guess turning (Big Furry Monster) over is the same as turning a combined creature over. (2017-12-06)
  • What's a watermark? Watermarks are an image that goes behind the text in a text box (with one addition listed in a second). Unstable has five new watermarks, one for each faction. The one addition is that we consider the faction symbols in the bottom right corner of the Contraptions to be watermarks. The five factions in Unstable are: Order of the Widget – Its watermark looks like a gear and castle; Agents of S.N.E.A.K. – Its watermark looks like a combination key and umbrella; League of Dastardly Doom – Its watermark looks like an explosion inside a light bulb; Goblin Explosioneers – Its watermark looks like a bomb and two sticks of dynamite; and Crossbreed Labs – Its watermark looks like a double-spouted beaker. (2017-12-06)
  • Can the "watermarks matter" cards care about watermarks from other sets? Absolutely. It's one of the reasons we included the watermark theme. (2017-12-06)
  • How do I describe what watermark I mean? If it appears on a card you can point to, point to it. If not, describe it as best you can. "It's the Azorius guild symbol," "It's the watermark for the Phyrexians," and "It's the watermark for the Mardu" are all fine. If your opponent still doesn't know what you mean, try to describe what it looks like. When it shows up for the first time, point it out. (2017-12-06)
  • When you say "six-sided die," what exactly do you mean? We mean a die with six, and only six, sides on it. The die must have six equally likely outcomes: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and grapefruit—I mean 6. (2017-12-06)
  • Can a roll have a result greater than 6? Sure. For example, Snickering Squirrel can change a roll of 6 to a roll of 7. (2017-12-06)
  • But a 7 on a six-sided die doesn't exist? There's at least one Snickering Squirrel that would disagree. And silver-bordered Magic doesn't care. (2017-12-06)
  • How are Contraptions assembled? Some creatures with the creature type Rigger assemble Contraptions. Also, a few cards ask you to assemble a Contraption. Here's how it works: reveal the top card of your Contraption deck, then put it face up under one of your sprockets. (2017-12-06)
  • Which sprocket should I put the Contraption on? Well, that's up to you. At the beginning of each of your turns, you're going to get all the effects from one of your sprockets. This proceeds in order: one turn you'll get Sprocket 1, the next turn Sprocket 2, then Sprocket 3, then back to Sprocket 1. Planning ahead can give you some great combinations. Concentrate all your power in one turn or spread it out? The world is your mechanized oyster. (2017-12-06)
  • If I assemble more than one Contraption at the same time, do I have to put them on the same sprocket? No. You choose individually for each one. (2017-12-06)
  • What if I or a creature I control assembles a Contraption and my Contraption deck is empty? In that case, nothing happens. (2017-12-06)