Better Than One {G}{W}

Sorcery

A person outside the game becomes your teammate. (Choose any number of cards in your hand, on top of your library, or on the battlefield under your control. Those cards become your teammate’s hand, library, and permanents, respectively.)

Watermark: Crossbreed Labs

Illustrated by Alex Konstad

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Better Than One
  • What exactly is happening with this card? Your side of the game is essentially turning into a Two-Headed Giant game. (https://magic.wizards.com/en/game-info/gameplay/formats/two-headed-giant) All the rules for how you and your teammate work together follow the Two-Headed Giant rules. (2017-12-06)
  • Does the person I choose have to agree to play? Obviously. Everyone playing Magic should be doing so voluntarily. (2017-12-06)
  • Any restrictions on who can join me with Better Than One? It just can't be anyone playing in the current game. It might help if they know how to play Magic, but that's not required. It does have to be a person—sorry, Whiskers. (2017-12-06)
  • Any restrictions on how I distribute the hand, library, and permanents? Nope. Give your new teammate whatever you want them to have. All the cards in your hand, none of your permanents, whatever you want. Just remember that for purposes of the game, your new teammate becomes the owner of those cards. (They're still your cards after the game ends.) (2017-12-06)
  • Do they get their own life total? They won't need one. As your half of the game is now under Two-Headed Giant rules, you and your teammate share a life total. When that life total hits 0, your team loses. (2017-12-06)
  • I chose poorly! My teammate abandoned me! Do I just lose? Oh man, tough break. Good news for you though! Unlike a regular Two-Headed Giant game, you can continue to play on. Whatever cards you gave your departed teammate remain outside the game, but you can carry on as a solo player. (2017-12-06)
  • I have tricked my new teammate and abandoned them! Do they just lose? Probably. When you leave the game, you take your cards with you, so your teammate won't have much left except perhaps a new perspective on friendship. (2017-12-06)
  • What happens if I cast Better than One and I'm already part of a Two-Headed Giant team? You're now a Three-Headed Giant team. Congratulations! Only you can give cards to your new teammate though, not your other teammate. Don't worry about diminishing returns here. Three heads have to be better than two. (2017-12-06)
  • Who counts as a "person outside the game"? Every person on earth except the people who are currently in your game. (2017-12-06)
  • How about players that started in your game but are currently out of it? Sure. They're now outside the game. (2017-12-06)
  • Does it have to be someone who plays Magic? No. In fact, involving people who don't play Magic can be a lot of fun. (2017-12-06)
  • What if there's no one else around? You have to find someone. Use your phone if you need to. Texting and calling is allowed. (2017-12-06)